top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMary Theresa Karthic

Do you have a love story?



To this question, many may reply, "Yes! that person is the love of my life," and others would grumble around, "I had one, and now it's broken up," "I had few, nothing suited," or "I'm unlucky to have love in life yet! I might never get one."


What if your love story doesn't need to start with someone else? Why does love always have to revolve around Ms. or Mr. X? Yes, you are reading me right. Do you have a love story about yourself? is my question. 


Externalising love to a person, another being, or a place sounds both natural and attractive. When you can love someone or something, why does loving yourself remain voiceless?


If I ask, 'Do you love yourself?' you would either say, 'How can I love myself?' or say, 'Oh yeah, I already do!' To both of my friends, here I am conversing with you.


We humans were born because of love. When I bring it up, I'm not only talking about the love your parents made. If your genes didn't love each other, the sperm and the ovum you're made from didn't love each other, and the cells of the zygote you were from didn't love enough, you aren't here. If you lack any self-love, here is my lovely reminder: every atom in your body loves you enough that you stand solid, channel liquid, breathe gas. If that love isn't miraculous, what else in this universe will be?


It's okay to hug yourself, pat yourself, stand in front of a mirror, and kiss that most gorgeous person who stares at you. It is not a bad idea to buy yourself a gift, go on a solo date, or treat yourself to a trip.


It's appreciable to give rest to your nerves, cry your heart out, forgive yourself, let go of your past, accept your weakness, flaunt your skills, embrace your imperfections, learn from your failures, get back to a productive routine, keep trying, and make new mistakes. And that's love, my dear.


Acknowledge and push yourself forward and hold your head high. May you experience head-over-heels moment every day. Find love for all the imperfections of your bruised heart, accident scars, silver hair, acne pores, and fine wrinkles. Fall in love with your challenging life and age. Find love in your struggles and hope for a breakthrough.


Your life glows and you grow when you love the whole of you. You stand up for yourself even when no one is there to support you. Love yourself with all your heart and create a monument in your life that surpasses Shah Jahan's Taj Mahal.


Smile for you. Do it for you.

Be you. Love you.


Feel yourself in love. It's a fact that you can only give what you have, isn't it?


Before your soul falls in love with the stars and leaves this earth, would you mind telling me your love story?

74 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

TALE OF METAMORPHOSIS 

Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

©2023 by Mary Theresa Karthic.

  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
bottom of page